Walking and Gawking

Eaves Wood – The Row – Bottom’s Lane – The Green – Stankelt Lane – The Lots – The Cove – Elmslack Lane

P1100893

Cherry Blossom.

The forecast was poor, but the rain was meant to stop eventually, late in the afternoon. It didn’t, but then just when it seemed set in for the entire day it suddenly both stopped raining and brightened up, leaving dramatic dark skies to the east, but sunshine overhead.

P1100898

Honesty.

P1100901

I headed up the Coronation Path (bought in 1953 by the village to give access to Eaves Wood) knowing that I would gain height with a view of those glowering clouds.

P1100910

The sun was low filtering through the trees and lighting the new Beech leaves…

P1100905

P1100907

From Castlebarrow, looking over the village, I could see the hills of the Forest of Bowland were still shrouded in a layer of cloud.

P1100911

But that it was slightly brighter out over the bay…

P1100916

A Robin was serenading me from the top of a Yew tree level with the crag…

P1100920

P1100922

Beech leaves in a rut, Andy Goldsworthy style?

Most of these photos were taken in the early part of the walk. After that the light was generally too poor. When I’d asked TBH to lend me her phone so that I could monitor my mileage, A had very kindly offered me hers instead, but insisted that I use a different App which she assured me was ‘better’ in some unspecified way.

This turned out to mean that the phone, rather disconcertingly, announced aloud, every kilometre, my average speed, split times, distance etc. It took me a bit by surprise the first time, to be spoken to in an American accent whilst I was ostensibly alone in the woods. It was no real surprise, on the other hand, to discover that my speed increases significantly when I stop taking photos.

P1100925

After my almost obligatory visit to The Lots and The Cove I walked past a friend’s house and discovered him having a quiet smoke on his front step. Twenty minutes later as we sat chewing the fat over a cup of tea in his kitchen, A’s phone piped up to deliver very disappointing news about my current speed and split time.

P1100936

Must try harder obviously!

Walking and Gawking

4 thoughts on “Walking and Gawking

  1. Jayne says:

    Before I saw the caption to your leaves in a rut pic, I thought … Andy Goldsworthy :-). Loving your blog and so jealous of where you live. Jayne

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Thanks Jayne. Yes, we are very lucky to be here. The leaves and the rut instantly struck me as being reminiscent of Goldsworthy. I’m very fond of his stuff.

  2. The app I use (Endomondo if you must know) for tracking my bike rides also squawks my shortcomings at me in an American voice. It does make me competitive and push me on, always trying to beat the 3 minute per km mark on the flat lanes round where we live

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      If only I were clever enough, I would like to design an app to shout abuse at you whilst you are cycling. The very idea is making me smile! (-:

Leave a Reply

