More Spring Colour

Hagg Wood – Silverdale Green – Sharp’s Lot – Pointer Wood – Stankelt Road – The Lots – The Cove – The Shore

P1110011

A couple of nights after my last visit to Hagg Wood, I was out again, but this time with some better light to catch the new leaves on one of the Inman Oaks.

P1110012

And the palette of greens in Hagg Wood…

P1110013

P1110014

Not all of the oaks had new leaves yet…

P1110019

The stronger light was short-lived…

P1110021

I watched this blackbird for a while. It repeatedly, diligently wiped either side of its beak against the branch it was perched on. I can’t think why.

P1110025

In Pointer Wood there’s a Wilding Apple I like to visit. It’s almost in flower…

P1110027

P1110029

More Wych Elm.

P1110031

The ‘Primrose Garden’.

P1110032

I arrived on the coast a little too late for the sunset.

P1110039

As I walked across The Lots I watched a man walking his dog out on the Bay. It’s been looking unusually firm and sandy near the coast recently and I couldn’t resist having a walk on the ‘sand’. In this case appearances weren’t misleading and I enjoyed my stroll, doubling back along the coast to pretty much where I had just come from.

P1110042

Sometimes our actions can have unexpected, or indeed unintended consequences. One knock-on of my renewed determination to get out and about as often as I can is the fact that even though April is a month in which I often take a lot of photos, this year I have still far exceeded my standard haul. Also, I noticed with some surprise today, I’ve published a post every day this month so far. In fact, my streak has lasted a little longer than that. That too has consequences. For one thing, a few more people seem to be reading my blog (or at least visiting, and sometimes clicking ‘like’ or ‘follow’, which isn’t necessarily the same as reading). Also, I now feel under some pressure to keep it going; at least till the end of the month, although I’m not sure that I can manage it. We shall see…

More Spring Colour

5 thoughts on “More Spring Colour

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Didn’t make it to the end of the month, and to be honest I really knew it would be impossible when I wrote that I wanted to. Setting myself up to fail, slightly odd thing to do, but I suppose I am at least slightly odd.
      Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try again. Fail again. Fail better.
      Samuel Beckett.

      1. I think “Fail better” is a good motto for life. You may notice that my posts are often published days away from the time they actually occur as I try to keep up. πŸ™‚

  1. I’m impressed with the post a day if you can keep it going. Always enjoy looking at the photos as you know how much we all love your locale πŸ˜€

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      I can’t continue at quite that rate, but for now at least, I intend to make pretty regular posts. Really enjoying the walking and photography at the moment. (As in, even more than usually, which is saying something).

Leave a Reply

