Bowland Bronzed

Castlebarrow – The Cove – The Lots – Spring Bank

P1110321

A very short walk this one, memorable for two reasons, firstly the perfect timing which saw me arrive by the Pepperpot just as the low sun burnished the Bowland Fells with a glorious bronze light.

P1110322

It was very fleeting, lasting long enough for me to take a couple of snaps, then it was gone. The photographs don’t begin to do it justice – the colour was amazing, I can’t think that I’ve ever seen anything quite like it.

P1110326

The second notable feature of the evening was the sunset, witnessed through April showers of snow and hail.

P1110332

I wouldn’t generally consider hail as ‘A Good Thing’ but this was surprisingly gentle and serene and quite out of the ordinary, so that I found myself enjoying it, despite my misgivings.

P1110339

Yet another sunset over Morecambe Bay, but somehow they are always a bit different.

Bowland Bronzed

4 thoughts on “Bowland Bronzed

  1. Exactly my thinking on sunsets and sunrises, never the same. Always surprises me how cameras sometimes seem to enhance what your eyes see and on other occasions never seem to do it justice

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      That’s very true – sunsets never quite look so spectacular in reality, whereas other effects of the light can be a bit disappointing when photographed. Still – another excuse to get out there to try again. Fail better!

Leave a Reply

