Eiders at Jenny Brown’s

Sharp’s Lot – Hollins Lane – Fleagarth Wood – Jenny Brown’s Point – Jack Scout – The Lots – The Cove.

P1110483

Warton Crag, Quicksand Pool and a huge washed-up, rust-stained timber.

P1110481

Early Purple Orchid.

Another evening stroll, very pleasant in itself, but made lustrous by an unexpected encounter. As I approached Jenny Brown’s Point I spotted a duck on the far side of Quicksand Pool. Even when seen out of the corner of my eye, something struck me about it and so I used the camera’s telephoto to find out whether or not I was really looking at a male Eider or merely another Shelduck…

P1110485

A male Eider!

P1110491

In amongst the trees at the southern end of Jack Scout I spent a while trying to photograph songsters – a Blackbird, a Robin and an elusive Chiff-chaff.

P1110494

P1110495

Because the tide was well in, I decided to follow the coast rather than the path which runs along the wall where butterflies are more often to be seen. I’m pleased that I did.

P1110498

Another male Eider!

Of course, we’ve usually seen Eiders when we’ve been to Piel Island and I also spotted one last time we were at Roa Island, but I’ve never seen their courtship display before.

P1110508

A group of seven ducks were drifting on the tide and the males were throwing their heads back along their backs and cooing. It’s a very odd sound. (Better pictures, and a  fuller description here.)

P1110516

There was a male Merganser in with the Eiders for a while, not sure what he was up to.

P1110519

Black-backed Gull flying across the sun’s glitter path.

P1110522

P1110524

More ‘Long Purples’.

P1110527

Sunset from the Lots.

P1110529

Eiders at Jenny Brown’s

2 thoughts on “Eiders at Jenny Brown’s

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Thanks – I liked that one too. Bit of an accident really, I was just trying to photograph the gull. I took other photos before it entered the glitter path, but they didn’t come out very well – all of these photographs were affected by another mishap with the camera settings, but…no use crying over spilt milk.

Leave a Reply

