Leck Beck and Ease Gill Kirk from Cowan Bridge.

P1120274

Another Wednesday night and another after-work outing, this time starting at Cowan Bridge which is between Kirkby Lonsdale and Ingleton. This row of cottages is the village’s claim to fame. It once housed the Clergy Daughters’ School, once attended by the Bronte sisters…

P1120271

…and the model for the Lowood Institution in Jane Eyre, although apparently the reality was even more brutal than the fictionalised version. Maria and Elizabeth both died of tuberculosis after an outbreak of typhoid at the school.

Fortunately, the walk along Leck Beck from Cowan Bridge is a much more cheery prospect.

P1120279

There were great swathes of flowers. An under-storey of Ramsons…

P1120277

…the subtle yellow tinge of Crosswort…

P1120282

…spikes of Bugle…

P1120284

…a really dense patch of Stitchwort…

P1120285

…lots of Bluebells and Hawthorn…

P1120287

…and another Wild Privet tree, which was heavily infested with webs full of caterpillars…

P1120292

P1120293

The village of Leck.

I’m currently reading ‘Counting Sheep’ by Philip Walling and realising just how variable the sheep I pass on my strolls are. By Leck there was a flock of quite long-wooled sheep, very different from the hill-sheep you might expect to see in this area. Apparently, there are thought to be more breeds of sheep in the UK than in any other country in the world. Although, as usual, I really don’t know what I’m talking about, I’m going to stick my neck out and hazard a guess that this lamb…

P1120294

…is a South Down.

Leaving Leck I crossed a couple of fields and then entered Springs Wood…

P1120297

A substantial footbridge over the beck was leaning at an alarming angle…

P1120299

I suspect that after rain this can be a raging torrent.

P1120300

Just short of the boundary to open access land, I was intrigued by this lonely wooden cabin…

P1120301

…but can’t find any information about it on the interweb.

P1120302

I’ve walked this way at least a couple of times before, once with my Dad shortly after he retired, when he brought a caravan up and camped behind the Whoop Hall Inn near Kirkby Lonsdale and we had a very good week’s walking together. That must have been back in the early nineties and we had to stick to the footpath which follows the hillside somewhat above the beck. This time I decided to more closely shadow the watercourse, where possible. That immediately brought me onto some very soggy ground, an ideal place to find Marsh Valerian…

P1120310

P1120315

Early Purple Orchid.

P1120316

Leck Beck.

P1120322

Cream-spot Ladybird.

I found three broken eggs on the ground, all around the same size (quite large) but all slightly different in colour.

P1120325

P1120326

P1120328

I had to climb away from the stream a little here to find a stile. I descended toward the stream again, but realised that the bank was too steep, so had to climb again to the path.

P1120330

I didn’t find Leck Beck Head, the resurgence where all this water flows from, but the path brought me to the edge of a steep sided ravine. I found a way into it, but, although no water was flowing through it, there were large pools and also rocky, dry ‘falls’, so that I was unable to make progress along the bottom of the ravine. I climbed out and then found another way in, further uphill which brought me to Ease Gill Kirk…

P1120353

…a really atmospheric spot where the walls of the ravine are absolutely peppered with caves, many of them, presumably, entrances into the The Three Counties System, “the longest and most complex system in Britain” (source) with around 89km of passages.

P1120357

I climbed out of the ravine yet again, then dropped down into it again a little further ‘upstream’. It was more open here and must have been very close to where I joined Ease Gill when I came this way last. (I’m a bit taken aback to find that was three years ago.)

A group of four Ravens were apparently very vexed by my intrusion and circled around ronking noisily. What I’m pretty sure was a Cuckoo dashed across the empty stream bed and into a tree above on the hillside. I followed, climbing away from Ease Gill, this time for the last time, and finding an outcrop of limestone to sit beside for a quick bite to eat.

The nature of the terrain changed from here on, as I crossed mostly pathless, heathery moorland, passing numerous sinkholes and quite a few potholes, usually marked out by the trees protruding from them.

P1120364

Smokey Hole or Peterson Pot, not sure which.

They have sonorous names – Smokey Hole, Peterson Pot, Death’s Head Hole, Eyeholes, Long Drop Cave, Rumbling Cave, Rumbling Hole and Short Drop Cave – but are not particularly exciting to look at, at least from above. Rumbling Hole does at least have the sound of running water to enliven it.

P1120382

Looking towards Morecambe Bay and Warton Crag – there’s a hot-air balloon flying in the distance.

P1120384

Great Coum and Crag Hill.

P1120385

Another largish egg, but clearly of a different species.

P1120386

Leck Fell House and Gragareth.

The moor was extremely busy with small birds.

P1120396

Meadow Pipit?

I heard lots of calls which had me thinking ‘Stonechat’, although why I felt so sure of myself I don’t know, because they aren’t birds I encounter very often. I was right though, for once; on a fencepost by Eyeholes I managed to photograph a male, though it wasn’t a very sharp image. Then a female regaled me from a perch on a Mountain Ash growing out of Long Drop cave…

P1120420

P1120424

Leck Fell House again.

P1120432

This large, and slightly grisly, nest was in a tree growing from Rumbling Cave. I don’t think it was occupied. I’m not sure what the bone was, but it was quite substantial.

P1120441

Leck Fell Road, looking toward The Forest of Bowland.

P1120443

A parhelion, or sundog.

For the walk back to Cowan Bridge I stuck to the Leck Fell Road – I don’t usually choose to walk on roads, but it certainly makes navigation easy and this is a very minor road, although there was a bit of traffic, much to my surprise.

P1120454

As well as the sunset, I was entertained by a Roe Deer racing away from me across a field and by a pair of partridges comically running away, apparently petrified by my presence, but inexplicably unwilling to fly to escape.

P1120475

Leck Beck and Ease Gill Kirk from Cowan Bridge.

4 thoughts on “Leck Beck and Ease Gill Kirk from Cowan Bridge.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Yes – I may continue this theme of exploring tributaries of the Lune – a walk which starts low in the Lune valley and then climbs up into the hills gives a tremendous variety of scenery, flora, fauna etc. This one maybe had so much packed in that it took me around five hours to walk a mere seven miles. Good fun though.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Yes, I think I might stick with it, although I’ve had a two week hiatus for various reasons. And I know myself well enough to be aware that I’m much better at thinking of projects to do, than at actually following through and finishing them.

Leave a Reply

