Walking the Lanes above Brockhole.

P1120898

Little S was invited to a party at the Lake District Visitor Centre at Brockhole. Looks like another job for taxi-Dad! Once I’d dropped him off with our friends, I had around three hours to wait until the party would finish. The forecast hadn’t been great, but not diabolical either, so – just for a change – I thought I’d get out for a walk!

I started on Mirk Lane which took me up to Newclose Wood where I found another Woodpecker nest. The adult was back and forth to the nest, but it was very difficult to get a clear view for a photograph.

The path, seen above, brought me out to a minor road on the outskirts of a hamlet seemingly composed entirely of fairly new houses. This set the tone for much of the walk, taking me past many large expensive looking properties, most of them with great views across Windermere to the Langdale Pikes. Many of the gardens, and hedges, were full of Rhododendrons which were flowering and looking splendid.

P1120907

Wansfell above was lost in cloud, but the weather generally held, bar a few occasional drops of rain. The whole route was resplendent with wildflowers, changing subtly as I climbed the hill and came back down again.

P1120908

Foxgloves.

P1120910

Meadow Crane’s-Bill, probably.

One short section of roadside verge had three different Crane’s-Bills.

P1120912

French Crane’s-Bill, I think. A species introduced from the Pyrenees.

P1120914

Wood Crane’s-Bill (I think).

P1120917

Windermere.

Skelghyll Lane took me past more grand properties. At one point, I was pleased to see a smaller, more rustic looking building with a traditional round Cumbrian chimney, but then realised that it was actually a garden folly.

P1120922

Holbeck Ghyll.

I passed a hedge absolutely cloaked with tent moth caterpillars…

P1120923

P1120925

P1120927

Water Avens seedhead.

P1120932

Low Skelghyll.

P1120933

Hol Beck.

P1120938

Early Bumblebee on Marsh Thistle (I think, in both cases).

P1120944

Marsh Lousewort.

P1120946

Lousewort.

P1120951

Robin Lane.

Robin Lane, which is part of the old route from Ambleside to Troutbeck, is a favourite of ours and very familiar, but it was really interesting to approach it via the lanes from Brockholes which I’ve never walked before.

P1120954

Windermere.

P1120957

Cantharis Rustica (Soldier Beetle).

P1120963

Mouse-ear-hawkweed.

P1120965

Lady’s Mantle.

P1120968

Wain Lane, by which I returned to Brockhole, has handsome stone barns all along its length.

P1120969

P1120971

Ribwort Plantain.

P1120975

Garden Chafers.

P1120981

Roe Deer.

P1120982

White-lipped Snail.

P1120988

Silver-ground Carpet Moth.

P1120997

Honeysuckle.

P1120998

P1130001

Another Wain Lane Barn.

P1130007

Another Roe Deer.

P1130010

Middlerigg Tarn.

I’ve never been to Middlerigg Tarn before. It’s difficult to get a proper view of the tarn, it being bordered by trees and a high wall, but there are one or two gaps. It’s not in the Nuttall’s Guide to the tarns of the Lake District, or in Heaton-Cooper’s, but it is a very peaceful spot.

P1130016

Yellow Irises.

P1130017

White Clover.

P1130020

Comfrey.

As I was almost back to Brockhole, I was looking over into a field on my right at pony dressed in a Zebra-skin print coat. I noticed a buzzard, relatively close by, sitting on the ground…

P1130023

Sadly, it took off just as I was taking a photo.

P1130030

White Stonecrop.

I’d been worried about arriving late for the end of the party, but actually arrived with half-an-hour to spare, so was able to get some soup and a pot of tea in the cafe there. Then when I picked up S, he declared his intention to stay a little longer to play on the adventure playground. The weather had improved considerably so that I was able to sit in the sun and read the book I’d brought for just such an eventuality – ‘Counting Sheep’ by Philip Walling.

I’d seen a lot of sheep of many different kinds during my walk. Apparently the UK had more breeds of sheep than any other country. Here are a few examples from my walk…

P1120901

This looks some of the very dark Scottish sheep, like Hebridean or Soay, but I’m not sure that it is either of those.

P1120918

I’m pretty sure that this is a Swaledale.

P1120920

I think that this is a Blue-faced Leicester, but as ever, stand ready to be corrected.

 

 

Walking the Lanes above Brockhole.

2 thoughts on “Walking the Lanes above Brockhole.

  1. Careful with your sheep identification interests, it could easily be mistaken for something else down my way! What a wonderful little walk with so much to see. Away from the high fells and crowds the Lake District is a wonderful quiet oasis

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Yes, this walk was a surprising contrast: Brockhole is deservedly busy, I think it’s fair to say that they have really upped their game in recent years. By contrast, the paths were exceptionally quiet.

Leave a Reply

