A Corvid Walk

P1130033

Later in the day, after my walk from Brockhole, with the weather now much improved, I was out for another stroll, a standard Hagg Wood, Silverdale Green, Stankelt Lane and across the Lots to the Cove wander.

The trees were absolutely full of small birds, but whilst they were very easy to hear, they were much less easy to see. The Oak above had a family of Blue Tits, which tantalised me by briefly showing themselves then hopping about in the branches, mostly obscured by leaves.

P1130037

P1130042

The Sycamore helicopters which only recently appeared have changed colour already and are now tinged with red.

I watched these two Crows for a while.

P1130049

Shortly after I took this first photo, the Crow at the front leant a little too far forward, over-balanced and did an involuntary forward-roll, then sprang back-up and comically continued as if nothing had happened.

P1130051

Of course, I’m anthropomorphising, but it’s almost impossible, I suspect, not to project human emotions on to animals when you watch them going about their daily business.

Jackdaws can regularly be found in certain places in the area: Trowbarrow, Arnside Tower, the quarry on Warton Crag. I’ve realised recently that Stankelt Road is another such venue. These chimney pots had four birds perched on them…

P1130061

But when all four had flown away, perhaps unnerved by my attention, I could still hear the sounds of Jackdaws from that direction…

P1130062

There were more birds in the chimney pots! I think that these are juvenile birds sitting in nests. Some hopped out for a look around…

P1130064

…and a bit of an explore…

P1130066

When I lived around the corner on Emesgate Lane, I used to get a lot of squawking and detritus down my own chimney, most memorably an abundance of cherry seeds one summer. I suppose that may well have been Jackdaws too.

P1130067

A Corvid Walk

11 thoughts on “A Corvid Walk

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      They are relatively intelligent, they clearly have a sense of fun (watch Ravens stunt flying on a windy day and that seems indisputable to me) and bags of character. They don’t always get a good press, but I’m with you.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Me too. The acrobatic flying skills and unearthly vocalisations of Ravens; the stunning plumage of Jays; the ubiquity of Magpies; the cheerful sociability of Jackdaws – what’s not to like?

        1. beatingthebounds says:

          Excellent idea.
          My daughter tells me that the Monster Raving Looney Party have a policy of free travel on public transport for all musicians, which I think is a brilliant idea on lots of levels. More people on public transport for a start. Everybody will want to be a musician, then everyone’s on public transport, services improve, congestion and pollution are reduced. Musician’s roam the country on their bus pass, everybody is practising hard to qualify: harmony is spread to the farthest reaches of the nation! It’s a win, win, win, win, win. At least.

  1. Showing my ignorance here, I admit to have never heard the word Corvid. One thing I do know though is that your photographs are pin sharp. Magnificent and I’m very jealous.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      I think I became familiar with it when I read Mark Cocker’s ‘Crow Country’ (well worth a read incidentally, although it’s about Rooks not Crows) and have used it willy-nilly ever since.

  2. I like Corvids as well, although I had no idea Jays were of that family. They do seem to get a bad press, probably down to their habit of pecking at road kill but seeing them in their more natural environment as it were, gives a different perspective

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      The fcat that they eat carrion and steal eggs from nests both seem to go against them. (Although I’m not sure that’s true of all Corvids). But other species will do those things given half a chance. For example, both Woodpeckers and Hedgehogs, both held in great affection it seems to me, will take eggs from nests.

Leave a Reply

