Trowbarrow Views

P1130720

The forecast promised that the weather was going to improve. I set out on trust, although there were still a few spots of rain in the fairly strong wind.

P1130722

The hay has since been cut – they were collecting it in today – but then the grasses were long and swaying in the breeze. The dominant, red-tinged grass here is, I think, Yorkshire Fog, but I’m really not sure about the patch of pale grass standing out amongst the red. Cocksfoot?

P1130723

Yorkshire Fog.

P1130727

Bittersweet.

P1130733

Leighton Moss.

Fortunately, by the time I reached Leighton Moss, the view to the west was finally looking promising…

P1130734

P1130735

The reeds along the boardwalk were looking tatty and half-eaten. It didn’t take much sleuthing to discover the reason why.

Alongside the reeds, there were lots of these large Dock leaves. (We have several Docks – I have no idea which these are).

P1130737

Many of them were infected with a fungus causing red blotches on the upper sides of the leaves…

P1130742

And crusty white rings on the undersides…

P1130740

I’ve done my lazy research, and I think that it’s a rust fungus called Puccinia Phragmitis.

P1130744

Common Spotted-orchid and Quaking Grass.

P1130748

Red Wall.

P1130751

Bee Orchid.

I was looking for the Fly Orchid which apparently flowers here. I didn’t find it, but more of the Bee Orchids had come into flower. Also, while I was poking about, I found a narrow path which I assume is the climbers’ descent route from the top of the main crag. I’ve never been up to the top before, but the views were excellent…

P1130762

P1130764

Humphrey Head.

P1130766

P1130770

Leighton Moss from Trowbarrow.

P1130775

Common Spotted-orchid and Quaking Grass again.

P1130780

And another (but quite different) Common Spotted-orchid.

P1130785

Hedge Woundwort.

P1130792

The clouds were back.

P1130795

Six for gold.

Towards the end of the walk I came across a couple of bumblebees once again apparently asleep on flowers. It was very windy and when I grabbed one of the flowers to try to hold it still for a photo the bee waved one leg in a half-hearted fashion, like a person might if you tried to rouse them from deep sleep.

P1130804

Trowbarrow Views

2 thoughts on “Trowbarrow Views

  1. I’m sure we must have walked through Trowbarrow before but I don’t remember it, especially the view from the top. Seems an obvious place to head for as its prominent in the view from the house. That’s a pretty good moon shot from a hand-held camera

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      I doubt that you’ve seen the view from the top – that was the first time I’ve been up there myself.

Leave a Reply

