Foulshaw: Lizards, Osprey, Skippers

P1140786

A’s dance lessons are almost over for the summer, so I’m conscious of making the most of my last few evening visits to Foulshaw in between taxi-duties. This Monday (now nearly a fortnight ago), having seen a Common Lizard on my previous visit, and it being warmer and sunnier than it was then, I hoped to see more. And I did. Around a dozen.

P1140773

Common Lizards are aptly named, in is much as, I suspect that they are very common, but like a lot of wildlife, they often go unnoticed. I tend to see one every now and again, but occasionally, when conditions are right, I’ve seen them in abundance. The last time this happened was quite a while ago, but the post I wrote then featuring lots of pictures of lizards has been one of those posts which has attracted a steady dribble of traffic ever since, so there must be some interest out there.

P1140736

Common Lizards can survive losing their tail, in fact will shed their tail in order to escape from a predator.

P1140793

Then the tail will grow back.

P1140746

P1140755

Whilst I concentrated on spotting the lizards basking on the boardwalks, I did spot one or two other things.

P1140730

This very dark damselfly is presumably a female, but further than that I can not go.

P1140733

I heard this juvenile Woodpecker before I saw it. Is it the same one I’ve seen a couple of times before?

P1140740

This damselfly is much easier, it’s a male Blue-tailed Damselfly.

P1140772

Meadowsweet.

A family who had driven over from Kirkby Lonsdale, hoping to see the Ospreys, asked me which way to look to find the nest. I hadn’t seen it myself, but had an idea of the general direction from a map posted at the carpark. After a bit of vague pointing on my part they had soon spotted the large untidy nest. I took a few photos and it was only after I got home that I realised that to the left and slightly below the nest, on the next tree, there is an Osprey perched.

P1140780

(Click on the photo, or any of the others, to see a larger version on Flickr.)

I know that I should be wary about claiming to have photographed an Osprey here, after previously getting over-excited and jubilantly posting photos of the cameras next to the former nest site, in the mistaken belief that they were Ospreys, but I am confident about this one – I took photos using the camera’s digital zoom, and whilst they are rubbish, they are also pretty conclusive. This is only the second time I’ve taken a photo of an Osprey, and the second time that I’ve done so unwittingly. One day, I shall actually see an Osprey properly in this area. But don’t hold your breath.

P1140783

Bog Asphodel.

There had been a bit of a dearth of butterflies and moths on this visit, until I came across several Large Skippers in pretty much the same spot where I’ve seen them before.

P1140802

Large Skipper on Tufted Vetch.

P1140812

P1140814

Creeping Cinquefoil.

If that does prove to be my last visit to Foulshaw this summer, then it was a memorable one to finish on.

Foulshaw: Lizards, Osprey, Skippers

3 thoughts on “Foulshaw: Lizards, Osprey, Skippers

  1. I bet a lot of people would be surprised to realize how common lizards are in the U.K. Everyone would likely assume you’d only see them in hot climates. I’ve seen few out on walks down here but not many

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      The Common Lizard is a remarkable creature, able to live in a wide range of habitats and is widespread across the world I believe. I suspect that they are all around us, in our gardens probably, but we just don’t generally see them, like a lot of other wildlife that has learned to avoid us! Last summer on Vesuvius they were everywhere, but there was less cover from vegetation to hide them there. I’ve also seen one high on the Ptarmigan ridge on one of our Feb/March weekends.

Leave a Reply

