Killington Constitutional

P1140898

From Burns Beck Moss it was only a short drive to Killington. This is Killington Hall. It’s 15th Century with alterations or additions from 1640 and 1803. Oh, and 2017.

P1140899

The peel tower is described as ruined, without a roof or a floor, on the description given with the listed building status, but it is clearly being restored at present – the windows have glass in them again and it is being reincorporated into the house by the look of it.

P1140901

Opposite the Hall is All Saints Church.

P1140902

According to a notice within the church, this is 13th and 14th Century and was built by the Pickering family who lived in the Hall (the Hall occupies the site of an even older building).

P1140903

This…

P1140906

…is a fragment of medieval glass, showing a lion from the crest of the Pickering family.

P1140907

“The east window, by Christopher Whall, dates from 1907”. (Source)

At the side of the peel tower runs Hall Beck…

P1140897

…another tributary of the Lune.

P1140910

Old School House, Killington.

P1140912

The Middleton Fells.

This was a relatively short walk. You can trace my route on the map below: down the hill to Hallbeck, back up the other side of the stream, then south to Beckside, up to Harprigg then north back to Killington via Aikrigg.

P1140915

Hall Beck at Hallbeck.

P1140920

The Middleton Fells and Beckside.

It was mostly through farmland and not particularly spectacular in itself, but with great views of the Middleton Fells.

P1140921

Burns Beck (again!) at Beckside.

P1140926

Barn at Low Harprigg.

P1140927

Harprigg. An unusual entrance I thought, I can’t find any historical details on the internet.

P1140931

Red Admiral.

P1140935

This Corvid – as usual, I’m not confident about which type – sat just beyond a gate from me, apparently oblivious until I opened the gate. Sadly, it wouldn’t turn around for a better portrait.

Near to this…

P1140938

…transmitter? Phone mast? Whatever – was the highest point of the walk and also the best spot for views.

P1140941

Howgills, Lune and Rawthey valleys and Holme Knott.

P1140942

Middleton Fells.

P1140944

Burns Beck yet again.

I’d seen many more hedgerows cloaked with tent webs, but no sign of either caterpillars or moths in them. Now, as I stepped over stile, lots of small white things fluttered down out of the hedge, looking remarkably like petals falling on a gentle breeze. But they weren’t petals…

P1140950

P1140952

Back to Killington.

Killington walk

Killington Constitutional

4 thoughts on “Killington Constitutional

  1. On 15th February 2015 I did a winter conditions walk with my friend Pete and posted on my blog with the title Circuit of Killington Lake:
    http://conradwalks.blogspot.co.uk/2013/02/circuit-of-killington-lake.html

    For some inexplicable reason that now ranks as the eighth most viewed page on my blog, having had 658 page views.

    I reckon the “Stats” page in Blogger is slightly different from your WordPress, but the whole thing is a mystery to me. I reckon many of the page views arise from search engines doing their thing and other high tech incomprehensible happenings, but one does wonder why a particular post gets more attention.

    I think that mast is one that I can see from my house (on a clear day.)

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      I remember reading that post Conrad and thinking that I’d never walked anywhere in that area – I recalled your walk whilst I was doing this walk – I still want to do a walk in the area around the reservoir and the other lake, although they flow into the Peasey Beck which is a tributary of the Bela and not the Lune.
      Likewise my ‘popular’ posts which are not the ones I would have picked out at all. Sometimes it seems to relate to particular photos – of an Elephant Hawkmoth caterpillar or a Common Lizard, some relate to the route of a walk I think, always ones away from this area oddly – one from Weardale gets occasional visits and a couple from the Wye valley are perennials, and a couple of other posts which mention essays I’ve read, in particular my most popular which is about a very obscure essay by a mostly forgotten writer and which gets lots of readers from India.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Interesting, in a sad anorak sort of way, to look at lifetime stats for individual posts. There’s seems to be no particular rhyme or reason to it and the top ten are mostly not ones I would pick out as being very interesting relative to others on the blog. None of my reviews are very high on the list, which doesn’t surprise me. The walk we did to King Arthur’s Cave, Seven Sisters and the Wye is at number 8. Mostly the ones near the top are very old posts, which should perhaps not surprise me, but would probably be a bit dispiriting if I thought about it too much!

Leave a Reply

