Norber, Crummack Dale, Austwick Beck

P1150009

Oxenber Wood, from just above Austwick.

My post-work walking outings this year have been exceptional. So much so that I’m almost regretting the fact that work has come to an end for the summer*. This walk started on a sunny afternoon in Austwick, a picturesque village which, inexplicably, I completely neglected to photograph.

P1150011

Robin Proctor’s Scar and Nappa Scars.

P1150013

Robin Proctor’s Scar.

P1150022

Moughton Scar.

P1150023

Wheatear.

P1150024

Skylark. I think.

P1150027

Classic perched Norber Erratic.

P1150030

Skylark and Meadow Pipit – the Proper Birder told me that Skylark’s are larger!

P1150035

I spent quite a long time exploring the famous Norber Erratics, zig-zagging back and forth taking photographs of birds, boulders and the expanding views. I was pleased that the erratics were so clearly of a different rock than the underlying white limestone, having been mistaken about erratics before.

P1150038

I wasn’t expecting to stumble across a manhole cover. A caver’s dig?

P1150039

Seems likely. A quick google reveals that this is indeed a dig, an attempt to find an easier route into Nappa Scar Cave, which was itself discovered by a digging party in 2013.

The very white, highly-textured limestone, made for very distinctive drystone walls…

P1150043

P1150045

View to a distant Pendle Hill.

P1150048

Pen-y-Ghent above Moughton Scars

P1150052

Ingleborough from Norber.

Unusually, this post has no photographs of butterflies, although I did see quite a number of Small Heaths in the grassy areas between the Limestone Pavements and some Red Admirals later on.

P1150072

Pen-y-Ghent across the head of Crummack Dale.

Crummack Dale is surrounded on all sides by limestone scars and at it’s northern end by two sets of cliffs with a large area of limestone pavement in between. I’ve camped near Austwick on several occasions in the past and feel that I must have been this way before, but, then again, if I have then surely I would remember: this is truly breath-taking scenery. To me it compared with seeing High-Cup Nick or Malham Scar for the first time. My photos totally fail to do justice to it, but perhaps that explains why it isn’t as well known as it might otherwise be – it is difficult to capture the grandeur of this scenery in a photo.

This photo…

P1150075

…was taken at Sulber Gate. Next time I’m in this area I intend to sit here and make a brew and eat a lengthy picnic whilst I enjoy this view.

P1150078

Panorama, click on the photo (or any other) to see a larger version on Flickr.

P1150080

Thieves Moss.

I was a bit surprised to discover that this area, in amongst all of this limestone, is genuinely a moss, that is wet and boggy, with Bog Asphodel and Cotton Grass and a few acid-loving plants you might not expect to see hereabouts.

I wouldn’t normally include a picture of a stile…

P1150102

…but this is named on the map: it’s the Beggar’s Stile. A path continues from here along the edges of Moughton Scars and I must come back to try that path sometime soon, but on this occasion I wanted to drop down into Crummack Dale.

P1150103

To seek out another tributary of the Lune, Austwick Beck, which is the dark line in the middle of the photo below…

P1150106

And which flows out of a cave mouth, which was unfortunately rather difficult to photograph because the sun was just above the horizon, making the light difficult.

P1150108

Austwick Beck Head.

To the east…

P1150111

…another stream flows down to join Austwick Beck from a spring at Moughton Whetstone Hole, somewhere else I shall have to come back to explore another time.

The Limestone Pavements had been busy with Wheatears, Meadow Pipits and Skylarks. This wall was  host to several families of Wheatears, juveniles and adults alike, all perching on the crest of the wall, or the wire, or the fence posts…

P1150114

Juvenile Wheatears.

P1150118

P1150119

Crummack.

As I approached Crummack I could near a Buzzard calling from the crags off to the right. I scanned in vain, but couldn’t pick it out, until it flew away from the crag and apparently straight for me. It made a bee-line, but then veered off when it was about half-way between me and the crag, landing in the trees surrounding the farm at Crummack. I wondered whether the apparent flight in my direction was just a coincidence and continued to check the trees trying to spot the bird. I couldn’t see it, but could still hear it calling and then I noticed a second, larger Buzzard, presumably the female, heading up the valley towards the trees.

P1150121

When I lost sight of this second Buzzard, I wandered a bit further down the valley, but stopped again a little way on to admire the view. The smaller Buzzard, the male, now made a second flight, arrow-straight and unmistakably heading directly for me, this time leaving it much later to veer off and return to the trees. This was nothing like the close shave I had in the past, but I definitely felt like I was being warned off. I did get a photo of the male, just as it changed course, but it is disappointingly blurred.

P1150133

Part of the reason I’d stopped was to consult my map in order to amend my route. The western side of the valley was now in deep shade, so I opted to take the track across the dale towards Studrigg Scar.

P1150135

Clapper bridge over Austwick Beck.

P1150140

The track on the far side of the valley turned out to be a narrow affair, slightly overgrown and overrun with flies. It might have been a disappointment, given how shady it was, but for the fact that many of the verdant plants hanging over the path were canes loaded with Raspberries.

P1150143

Most weren’t ripe, but there were still more then enough for me, and they were delicious. I don’t think I’ve seen such a fine crop of wild raspberries since I was walking in the Black Forest something like 30 years ago.

From the tiny hamlet of Wharfe, rather than heading straight back to Austwick, I crossed this little brook…

P1150150

…cheerful with Monkeyflowers….

P1150149

…then over Wharfe Gill Sike and round the hillside under Wharfe Wood and Oxenber Wood (more places to come back to explore). I had hoped that I could chase the sunshine up the hillside, but it was much faster than me and I finished the walk in shade, although I could see that the sun was shining still on the slopes of the hills above Bentham.

P1150161

Flascoe Bridge and Austwick Beck.

P1150165

The final section of path had a fine display of the tall and showy Giant Bellflower, though it was getting a bit dark to take photos. This has appeared here on the blog before, but I’m much more confident about my identification this time, partly because ‘The Wild Flower Key’ is excellent, especially now that I am beginning to know my way around it a bit, but also because there are several very detailed wildflower plant websites available now.

Screen Shot 2017-07-22 at 15.02.49

Norber, Crummack Dale, Austwick Beck

9 thoughts on “Norber, Crummack Dale, Austwick Beck

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Thanks. I also hadn’t seen any Monkeyflower for years, but that’s twice this year. Seeking out rivers and streams is clearly the way forward there.

  1. liz says:

    Lovely pics Mark – jealous that I haven’t seen a Wheatear in quite some time (if at all) and it looks like you’ve seen about ten in one day!

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Probably more like 40 or 50 – there are a lot more photos which I didn’t post. I saw a solitary Wheatear by the Bela near Milnthorpe earlier this year, and if you get out in the hills anywhere in this area in the summer I think you would probably see them, but recent walks with a combination of limestone and wet places have been particularly fruitful.

  2. I recently tried to express my feelings for the limestone country in a post. You obviously hold it in the same regard, so well expressed by both your writing and photos. I am particularly looking forward to my forthcoming resumption of my walk when I will drop doen to Beckermonds from the north and walk down Lanstrothdale then back over Horse Head down to Halton Gill and Foxup and over Plover Hill and Pen-y-Gehet.

  3. That was a superb post mate, really enjoyed those photos and sharing the walk. I think we walked through Crummack Dale in the dark on on one of the those Weekends in that scabby bunkhouse, the one where TBF was, shall we say, tired and emotional after an evening in the pub

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      I think I’ve walked that way at least a couple of times, but I must have been very preoccupied because I don’t really remember it and it is absolutely stunning.

Leave a Reply

