Summer’s Distillation

A late-evening, post-work wander in the Hawes Water and Gait Barrows area.

P1150241

Small Skipper.

P1150245

Common Restharrow and unidentified insect. Anyone?

P1150250

Gait Barrows limestone pavement.

P1150251

Wood Sage.

P1150252

P1150254

After much deliberation I’ve decided that this is a Shaded Broad Bar Moth – it looks rather dull in my field guide, and perhaps in this photo, but was actually quite fetching with it’s range of different browns.

P1150261

Bird’s-foot Trefoil.

P1150269

There’s always something new to see – I spotted this plant and noticed that it wasn’t quite fitting in with the Betony growing nearby, being taller apart from anything else. It looked a little like a mint I thought, but the flowers were wrong. It smelled and tasted quite herby, but not minty. I’ve now realised that it is Wild Basil. (Sadly, not closely related to the garden variety).

You can perhaps tell from the light in the photos above that the sun was close to setting when I started my walk. After it had gone down, I diverted into the field between Challan Hall and Hawes Water. Down towards the lake I was watched by a Roe Deer…

P1150274

I think that this is a male, although it’s hard to see any antlers. The rut is due soon.

And beyond that, I could see another deer, this one accompanied by two fawns…

P1150287

Apparently twins are quite common. These young will have been born in May or June. Unusually, although Roe Deer mate in July or August, the fertilised eggs don’t develop for four months giving a very long gestation period and young which are born in spring rather than winter.

P1150291

Summer’s Distillation

4 thoughts on “Summer’s Distillation

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      I was a bit dismayed when it died, but it does have a lot of character and I have taken no end of photos featuring it.

Leave a Reply

