Lancaster: The Heights, Aldcliffe, Lune

P1150293

Another taxi-Dad related walking-window which involved staying in Lancaster after work to wait for A. I started on the footpath which runs between this field, which the kids tell me is called ‘The Heights’, and the Haverbreaks housing estate, which my former colleague Dr PH used to call ‘The Magic Kingdom’ when we ran along its private roads during our lunch breaks years ago.

P1150296

I’m not sure whether Lancaster is built on seven hills like Rome, but it certainly does lay on a series of modest heights, some of which, like this one, give excellent views. The hills in the background are Arnside Knott and the long ridge of Cartmell Fell, with the higher Lake District Fells behind.

P1150297

Lancaster Castle.

The path took me down to the Lancaster Canal and I turned south-west along the towpath for a time. On the far side of the canal, some of the gardens of the Haverbreaks houses run down to the canal bank. The gardens always look very pleasant, but I was more interested in the flowers growing in the shallow margins of the canal itself…

P1150302

White Water-lily.

P1150303

Flowering Rush

P1150304

Meadowsweet and Marsh Woundwort.

P1150305

A house in Aldcliffe.

I left the canal to take the lane into the tiny hamlet of Aldcliffe. This is less than a mile from where I’ve worked for the past 20 years (nearly), but I’d never been here before!

From Aldcliffe a path snakes down towards the Lune. For most of its length it was hemmed in by two very tall hedges and seemed to be a haven for a wealth of insect life, notably butterflies including several Red Admirals, some Speckled Wood and…

P1150319

Comma.

P1150322

Salt marsh by the Lune.

I had a choice of paths around Aldcliffe Marsh, but took the shorter, eastern option because I was already realising that I had underestimated the length of the walk, or at least how long it would take me.

P1150326

Rosebay Willowherb.

There were a wealth of flowers and plenty of butterflies along this section of the walk, but I took only a few photos because I was hurrying now.

P1150329

Great Willowherb.

P1150336

Green-veined White on Bramble.

P1150339

Gatekeeper.

P1150342

A (very vigorous) Melilot.

P1150341

Bumblebee with very full pollen basket.

Embarrassingly, after a stomp through town, I arrived, hot and sweaty, half-an-hour late for my rendezvous with A. Fortunately, she was very forgiving.

This route, and variations on it, have great potential for walks from work, just as long as I’m more careful with my time-keeping in future!

Screen Shot 2017-08-03 at 04.38.15

Lancaster: The Heights, Aldcliffe, Lune

2 thoughts on “Lancaster: The Heights, Aldcliffe, Lune

  1. Nice semi-urban walk. I’ve been reading quite a few posts about similar walks and realizing there is much to be enjoyed without necessarily heading to the “countryside”

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      I think this is a good point. Living in Manchester without a car for seven years eventually had the effect of making me realise that an urban walk could have a lot going for it, even in unpromising areas – lots to see on the towpaths of Manchester’s neglected canals back in the late eighties for example. Hope you enjoy lots of great urban walks over the next few weeks!

Leave a Reply

