Mynydd Mawr and Mynydd Anelog

P1150589

With high-tide generally falling around the middle of the day and therefore not much beach on offer at that time, we did a tiny bit more exploring than we sometimes do when we are on the Llyn, which is to say: some. We have once before been down to the end of the peninsula, but that was 7 years ago, and at that time the Llyn coastal path hadn’t been opened, so today’s walk wouldn’t have been possible.

P1150593

Bardsey Island.

P1150595

Former Coastguard lookout station on Mynydd Mawr.

P1150596

The coastal heath on Mynydd Mawr, with its patchwork of purple heather and low-growing, yellow gorse looked wonderful, and the sea, a fairly mundane blue in my photos, was a scintillating, almost unreal seeming, glittering turquoise in the flesh.

It was also breathtakingly clear – this was the day, my kids have reminded me, when TJF correctly picked out the Wicklow Mountains in Ireland, whilst his Dad and I poured scorn on the idea, trying to persuade him that it was Anglesea he was looking at. In our defence, he had first tentatively suggested that those distant hills were in Pembrokeshire, which was patently ridiculous. So honours even then. Sort of.

P1150598

Two views of Mynydd Anelog.

P1150605

I suspect, but can’t recall, that this walk was Andy’s suggestion. Certainly he, and some of the others, have done it before, but for us it was a revelation. I took many, many pictures of the view along the coast and fell steadily further behind the group.

Then, with distractions closer to hand as well, the situation only got worse…

P1150613

Having been wrong about this before, I hesitate to offer a definitive opinion here, but I’m pretty sure that this is a male Linnet and not a Red-poll, the grey head and black tail-feathers being the deciding features.

I think that these gregarious black caterpillars are almost certainly destined one day, hopefully, to be Peacock butterflies.

P1150614

I’ve been a bit worried about Peacock butterflies. They are generally very common close to home and probably the most regular visitors to the Buddleia bushes in our garden. But until recently I’ve hardly seen any this year, and none in the garden. Perhaps I shouldn’t have been so thorough when I pulled out all of the nettles I found in our flower beds a while back, since this is the caterpillars food-plant.

P1150616

As we dropped down into the gap between Mynydd Mawr and Mynydd Anelog we were sheltered from the wind and there were lots of butterflies about. This…

P1150623

…Wall Brown can stand in for them all. It’s not a species I see at home, although apparently it is present in the area.

P1150624

Common Fleabane.

P1150629

Looking back to Mynydd Mawr.

P1150634

Carn Fadryn see through intervening rain, the Rivals just about visible on the left.

We had a few spots of rain as we left the top of Mynydd Anelog (after our customary summit sit-down rest), but then the weather held off long enough for most of the party to have made it back to the cars, or near enough. Most of the party: TBH and Little S and I had been dawdling on the minor lane – I was introducing Little S to the delights of foraged Sorrel from the road verge – so that we were caught in the next fierce shower, which was first hail and then a really drenching rain. It wasn’t sufficient to put a dampener on a really excellent walk however.

Mynydd Mawr and Mynydd Anelog

5 thoughts on “Mynydd Mawr and Mynydd Anelog

  1. It’s a great piece of coastal walking and I love the heather and gorse colors at this time of year. I’ve had some wonderful walks around Mynydd Mawr over the years and enjoyed sharing the experience. Pity about the soaking at the end 🌧

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      I thought that you escaped the soaking at the end – it will certainly stick in the mind. It is a cracking walk – I’d love to do the path around the whole peninsula some day.

  2. I’ve only recently ‘discovered’ the area, I backpacked a section a couple of weeks back. I’ll be going back in early September to do more – it’s
    really quite lovely.

Leave a Reply

