Whitfell and Devoke Water.

Or: Three Brews with Views.

Birker Fell Road – Rough Crag – Water Crag – White Pike – Woodend Height – Yoadcastle – Stainton Pike – Holehouse Tarn – Whitfell – Woodend Height – Devoke Water – Seat How – Birker Fell Road.

P1160580

Hesk Fell, Woodend Height and Stord’s Hill seen across Devoke Water from Rough Crag.

It was our turn to do Kitchen Duty at rugby and TBH offered to go in my stead. I didn’t need to be asked twice. The MWIS forecast gave hill fog, with the best chance of some sunshine in the west, so I drove out to Ulpha in the Duddon valley and then up to park on the Birker Fell Road. Pike How, just above the road is a marvellous view point and one to bear in mind for future reference. It didn’t take long to reach Rough Crag either and I found a comfortable spot out of the chilly wind blowing from the north…

P1160582

…and settled down for an early brew stop.

P1160586

Water Crag from Rough Crag.

Water Crag was also easily and quickly ascended.

P1160587

Looking back to Rough Crag from Water Crag.

P1160590

This rocky little knoll is Brantrake Crags. It’s off modest height and probably doesn’t appear in any guide books anywhere, but I thought it looked worth climbing. The stream beside it, Linbeck Gill, which drains Devoke Water, also looked like a good place to explore.

After Rough Crag and Water Crag, Birkett suggests a lengthy traverse to take in The Knott. For once, I’d done my research in advance and discovered that Wainwright, in his Outlying Fells book, has a separate walk which takes in the Knott, but also the ancient settlement at Barnscar and the waterfall of Rowantree Force. That seemed like a more sensible option to me, so I skipped The Knott and climbed directly to White Pike. After the previous two, very easy, ascents, this one seemed like a long way. It was well worth it though. The prominent cairn…

P1160595

…marked a spot with excellent views.

P1160597

Whitfell and Stainton Pike from White Pike.

P1160600

Cumbrian west coast from White Pike.

P1160602

Eskmeals viaduct and Isle of Mann.

P1160596

Woodend Height and Yoadcastle.

All of the peaks on this walk had stunning views. I’d be hard-pressed to pick a favourite, but Woodend Height would be hard to beat; from it’s top you can have great fun picking out all of the big hills of the western Lakes, across Devoke Water.

P1160604

P1160607

Yoadcastle, Whitfell and Stainton Pike from Woodend Height.

Aside from the minor difficulty of surmounting a wire fence with a top strand of barbed wire, the walk around to Stainton Pike was delightful. This was yet another good view point.

P1160616

Looking back to Yoadcastle from Stainton Pike.

P1160617

Holehouse tarn and Whitfell from Stainton Pike.

P1160618

The estuaries of the Irt and the Esk from Stainton Pike.

It seemed like another brew was in order, and I found a wonderfully sheltered spot to sit to enjoy it.

P1160625

The Irt and the Esk and the dunes of Drigg nature reserve.

P1160624

Muncaster Castle.

P1160629

Isle of Mann and Eskmeals viaduct.

From there then, on to Whitfell.

P1160632

Large summit cairn on Whitfell.

P1160631

Looking back along my route.

P1160633

Duddon Estuary, Black Coombe and Buckbarrow.

On Whitfell you are a bit further away from the hills of Wasdale and Eskdale, but if anything, I thought this enhanced the view. I took several panoramas during the course of the day. Sadly, none of them were very successful, but I’ve included this one, if for no other reason than to remind myself of the great sweep of hills from Whin Rigg in the west round to Caw at the southern extreme of the Coniston Fells.

P1160638

Despite the forecast hill-fog, the higher fells were often clear…

P1160642

Scafells, Esk Pike, Bowfell, Crinkle Crags.

I’d flirted with the idea of descending from here, via Biggert to Hole House, then climbing The Pike and Hesk Fell on my way back to Devoke Water. This now seemed overly ambitious, and Hesk Fell looked every inch the tedious lump which Wainwright bemoans. So I wandered back to Woodend Height, skirting the other summits on my way.

Dropping off Woodend Height toward Rowantree How, I found another comfortable, sheltered seat and settled down for another brew.

P1160645

The view from my final brew stop.

P1160647

The same view from a little lower down: the rocky knoll on the left is Rowantree How. Note Seat How to the right of Devoke Water.

P1160650

Devoke Water and Seat How.

P1160653

Devoke Water boat house.

Seat How is another modest little top, but it is gratifyingly craggy, giving a satisfying scrambling finish to the round

P1160658

Devoke Water from Seat How.

P1160659

The pastures around Woodend, Hesk Fell behind.

P1160661

Harter Fell, Crook Crag, Green Crag, Great Crag.

I’ve often pontificated about the elements which come together to provide a good day on the hoof; I shan’t start again here, except to say that a really good walk might not just leave you wanting to come back and do it again someday, but may also fill your head with ideas for other walks you’d like to do soon. That was certainly the case with this one: not only did I find myself wanting to return to reascend many of the familiar hills I could see around me, but I also now plan to head round to the west coast to grab The Knott, and to explore the dunes at Drigg; I need to bag Buckbarrow, and The Pike, and even Hesk Fell; I spent large parts of the day thinking about a Duddon watershed walk and also wondering how to continue a high level route which would begin with Black Combe and then head north over Whitfell and these Devoke Water tops. Speculating about these more fanciful routes was great fun….in fact: where are my maps? After Harter Fell, where next?

Whitfell and Devoke Water.

10 thoughts on “Whitfell and Devoke Water.

  1. Definitely a good walk and a decent day for it too. Never strayed over that way myself, always seems a bit of an awkward journey. But after your post definitely tempted 😊. So many places to walk and so little time! I need to pack in work, but then I wouldn’t be able to afford to do anything 😒

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      There are so many beautiful places to visit. Slovenia looks stunning on your blog, and it’s certainly now on my list of places I’d like to visit.

  2. Excellent walk. The smaller knobby hills around there are excellent, as you know I did Whitfell a while back. Like you I found myself plotting others routes, especially a backpack around these parts. The bits I walked were astoundingly boggy though. Didn’t know they’d added an extra “n” to the Isle of Man, must be the 25,000 foot mountains

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Aaaarggh! I’m always tempted to add the extra n. Usually, I correct my mistake. I was also thinking about walking in the Isle of Man; I’ve wanted to visit for ages, but whether I’ll ever get around to it, I don’t know. The hills were fairly boggy on my visit, but not too shocking. Crossing the outflow from Devoke Water was interesting, I wished I’d brought my poles. The knobbly tops both sides of the Birker Fell Road are stunning, with lots for scope for easy, if somewhat disjointed, scrambling. When I got back to my car a couple of carloads of people were pulling up and stopping for picnics; the view even just from the road is amazing.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      I read quite a few of your Outlying Fells posts, but this one seems to have escaped me. I can imagine ticking them off was really enjoyable. I’m finding that bagging the Birketts is taking me to places I might not otherwise visit, although I’m probably not single minded enough to ever finish them. (Or agile enough to get up Pillar Rock).

Leave a Reply

