Birks Bridge, Winster Valley

PXL_20231126_121332571
Windermere from Waterhead.

The day after my Howgills outing. A grey day. A was home from university and wanted to buy some outdoor gear, so we took her to Ambleside, where the streets are practically lined with outdoor retailers. We made a walk of it by parking at Waterhead. I guess we must have had some lunch in Ambleside, but I’m blowed if I can remember where.

Shopping accomplished, we took the scenic route home and stopped en route for a little wander in the Winster valley.

PXL_20231126_145934780
Birks Bridge over the River Winster.

We parked near Birks Bridge, then watched a large four-by-four drive through the ford by the little clapper bridge. The river looked pretty deep and I wouldn’t want to try it in my own car.

PXL_20231126_145957717
Birks Bridge.

The bridge is listed, but the Historic England website is decidedly vague: “Probably C17 or C18”. Old then. Even the handrail is “probably C20”. You would think that someone might know a little more than that about the history of this charming spot.

PXL_20231126_150026989
Birks Bridge

This area seems to be dotted with small tarns, most of which are unnamed on the OS map, sadly.

PXL_20231126_151425205
Tarn, Winster valley.

The scattered buildings in the valley all seem to be listed, I need to come back on a better day and take more photos.

PXL_20231126_152312725
Birkett Houses.

I was particularly taken with Birkett Houses which is, I think, sort of faux medieval, and, built in 1909, is probably an Arts and Crafts sort of place. It also has, I’ve discovered, a Thomas Mawson designed garden and so ticks another one of my obsessive boxes. Sadly, it was hard to get a decent view from the footpath. There seemed to be some work going on in the garden.

PXL_20231126_154250523
Holy Trinity Church.

Since our route passed Holy Trinity Church it would have been rude not to take a peek inside.

PXL_20231126_154358078
Holy Trinity Church, interior.

Apart from the fact that it was built in 1875, on the site of an older chapel, I can find almost nothing online about the history of the place.

PXL_20231126_154425861
Saint Kentigern.

Even my little reference book, ‘Lakeland Country Churches’ by Sheila Ricketts has nothing to say about this church, but I did learn that Saint Kentigern was a 6th Century scot who travelled through what is now Cumbria preaching. And that he is also known as Saint Mungo from a nickname Myn Ghu which means ‘dear friend’.

PXL_20231126_154459198
Another stained glass window.

Long-suffering readers will know that I can’t resist a stained glass window or two.

PXL_20231126_154734942
A celtic cross? And Winster School 1849.

Unlike the church itself, this adjacent school, or maybe sunday school, building is listed.

Our return route took us around the marvellously named Hawkearth Bank, where the path became a little sketchy and overgrown at one point.

I have a little guide book, produced by a local history group, to walks in the Winster valley area. This walk was a shortened version of one of those walks. It’s a quiet area with lots of charm, which I used to visit often. It’s an ideal place to come to when the weather precludes hill-walking, but it definitely merits a few visits on a brighter day too.

Birks Bridge, Winster Valley

6 thoughts on “Birks Bridge, Winster Valley

  1. All around the edges of the Lakes are these lovely spots, I’ll get to them, probably on my next visit up and from then onwards. I’ll have finished the Wainwrights on my next visit and don’t need to be heading for a fell on the drive up!! Have to say when I read Birks Bridge I did think Harter Fell, as I was there a month ago!!

    1. Mark Richards says:

      Well quite – the Duddon valley one is very special. Good luck with your next bagging trip. Are you planning something special for the last one?

      1. It’ll be Haystacks to finish, although I have Mungrisdale and Blencathra to do as well. So two walks in August and then start having a look at some of my favourites again. Need to visit the Duddon Valley, always think that Great Stickle and Caw look good fells in that area

Leave a comment