Stott Park Bobbin Mill

PXL_20231027_131318667

The day after Martin Simpson, which was our wedding anniversary. UF had somewhere else to be. He seems busier now than he ever did when he was working! Anyway, TBH and I decided to have a day out together, starting with a visit to Stott Park Bobbin Mill.

PXL_20231027_121912631
A boiler?

I don’t think TBH had ever been to the Mill before, but I came here with other trainees when I was doing my teaching qualification, so….1989, I think.

PXL_20231027_122638626
Random leftover bits.

They still do superb guided tours and demonstrate the machinery.

PXL_20231027_124354682
An engine.

But that tour was given by an ex-employee from when the mill still functioned as a going concern (it closed in 1971).

PXL_20231027_125655348
Bobbin making machinery – lots of moving parts!

He had a marvellous cumbrian accent and a store of gruesome stories about the horrific injuries which the machines and all of those moving bands could cause.

Anyway, the mill is fascinating, well worth a visit. The detail which stuck in my head this time was the amount of sawdust generated – I’m sure that we were told that the staff would be waist deep in the stuff, which seems like a fire hazard!
Years ago, TBH and I did a tour of one of the world’s first cotton mills (in Belper, Derbyshire). Apparently, with all of the cotton dust in the air, early cotton mills were real powder kegs.

PXL_20231027_130747830
Bobbins.

On a side note, the word bobbins will always remind me of ‘The Robins Aren’t Bobbins’ a song about Altrincham FC by Chris Sievey in the guise of his alter-ego Frank Sidebottom. Like anyone who went to a lot of gigs in Manchester in the eighties, I saw Frank Sidebottom perform several times. I could never really make my mind up about him. Still can’t. I was trying to explain the act to ‘Little’ S, but I think I lost him when I mentioned Little Frank – a ventriloquist act by a man wearing a papier mache head – does it get any weirder than that?

Still, ‘Is this the real world, or is this just Timperley?’ Immortal.

Stott Park Bobbin Mill

11 thoughts on “Stott Park Bobbin Mill

  1. All dusty places, including windmills and animal feed mills can explode if the dust ignites. Same with coal dust – they tries to0 use coal dust as a fuel in early engines. Mr Diesel originally tried to run his engine on powdered coal dust. Of course, with dusty atmospheres it’s the lung disease rather than the explosions that generally get you. despite this, it looks like a lovely place and seems to be very interesting.

    1. Mark Richards says:

      My mum worked for a while in a small mill and I remember all of the colourful bobbins, but I think that they were all plastic, sadly.

    1. Mark Richards says:

      Very close to the car park for High Dam. You could combine a walk a swim and a bit of industrial archeology.

        1. Mark Richards says:

          Best not to combine them too closely, by, for example, swimming in canals, as I learned the hard way!

Leave a comment