Green Longhorn Moths and Other Delights

P1360985
Roe Deer.

These first two photos are from earlier in the week than the rest in the post, and from our garden. The deer and the covid were stood in much the same spot, at different times of course.

P1360993
Magpie.

We stopped putting food out for the birds when we acquired our cats, or as I like to think of them, bird murderers. These days however, one of them is fat and the other decrepit and they rarely seem to catch anything apart from the odd pigeon. So when my mum and dad donated some feeders we decided to try again. We’ve hung several in the tall birch in the garden. Some contain seed mixtures, which do gradually go down, but the fat-balls and the dried mealworms disappear at a rate of knots. Right from the off, a clever magpie discovered that by hopping from the tree into the feeder full of mealworms and bashing it with a shoulder, worms could be made to sprinkle onto the ground. Here the bottom has fallen off the feeder altogether, leading to a bonanza. Since then, the local Magpies, a family I think, seem to have worked out how to cling to the feeder and help themselves directly. We’ve had allsorts on the feeders, and although I don’t often take photos, I’m sure more will appear here at some time, especially if this dreary weather continues.

P1370002
Dodgy horizon.

My phone died early in June, perhaps due to getting a bit damp during a couple of canoeing outings, perhaps due to being dropped once too often. The new (well second-hand) one I have acquired has a sort of spirit-level indicator on the screen so my drunken horizons may be a thing of the past. But probably not.

Anyway, in the middle of that slightly wet area on the sand were two pairs of…

P1370001
Shelduck.
20230512_183732
Spring.

I love these large springs which occur in several places at the edge of the bay. On this occasion I could see something swimming near where the water was emerging, but my camera refused to focus on whatever it was.

20230512_183823
Tellin shells in the stream.
20230512_184005
A Hawkweed.

There were lots of these yellow flowers growing on the cliffs. They’re a hawkweed of some kind. There are lots of hawkweeds. These have elliptical leaves, which are hairy, spotted and red underneath. The stems are hairy too. You’d think they would be easy to identify. But they aren’t.

P1370012
With truly glorious flowers.

But in attempting to work out what they were, and so making a detailed examination, I discovered that the flowers, with closer inspection, were really stunning.

P1370010
Attractive to Common Carder Bees (I think) too.
20230512_184421
And very hairy leaves attractive to Banded Snails.

And that there were several Banded Snails on and around the plants.

20230512_184442
More leaves and snails.
P1370015
Across the Bay to Clougha Pike.
20230512_190340
And a similar view from the top of the cliff and a little bit further round the coast.
P1370026
Crane fly.
P1370031
Web/nest?

I’ve become fascinated by the various webs and woven nests that, when you start to look, seem to abound. I’ve not idea what made this one, but something in there has been eating the oak leaves which have been bound together.

P1370035
Green Longhorn Moth.

This was a beautiful warm early summer evening in mid-May, a Friday night, a great way to start a weekend. The most memorable thing about the outing, was the profusion of these little creatures. Apparently, this species are common and widespread, but I don’t recall ever seeing them before.

P1370040
Green Longhorn Moth.

The oaks which grow by the coastal path are stunted, presumably by the wind and perhaps the salt-laden air. But there are lots of them, and every one seemed to be playing host to at least a few of these. They would sit on the leaves, but if one of them took off it seemed to provoke a chain reaction and they would all suddenly be flitting about, playing musical chairs.

P1370050
Green Longhorn Moth.

I didn’t see them on any of the other types of tree which grow along the cliffs, they seemed to be completely loyal to the oaks.

P1370075
Green Longhorn Moth.

I took an awful lot of photographs. Although they are called ‘green’ I was amazed by their iridescence and by the way they seemed to show a wide variety of colours depending how they were catching the light.

P1370099
Green Longhorn Moth.

Like the hawkweeds, they seemed to be liberally covered in hair. I think all of the photographs I took were of males. The females have shorter antennae.

P1370102
Green Longhorn Moth.

“The males are often seen in the spring sunshine forming swarms of up to 30 specimens. If a female flies through the swarm, it is caught by a male and the mating in flight takes place.”

Source

P1370106
Green Longhorn Moth.

Often, all I could see were those huge antennae, peeking out above the edge of a high leaf, which, for some reason, I found quite comical.

P1370107
Green Longhorn Moth.

At first, I couldn’t find much online about these micro-moths. I did find something referring to the larvae living in leaf-litter in a ‘portable case’. Then I found this:

“The caterpillars live among fallen leaves from birch and oak and feed on leaves remains, often “Quercus” species, forming mines on them. They protect themselves for the summer and winter in an oblong, brown bag-like structure of small pieces of fallen leaves. In this bag also the pupation takes place the following spring.”

Source

Which I found fascinating. I guess that these must be pretty tiny caterpillars; I wonder what chance I have of finding some, now that I know where to look?

P1370109
Peepo.
P1370110
Green Longhorn Moth.
P1370095
Oak leaves.

I was moving very slowly, or quite often just standing, waiting for a moth to settle in a suitable spot to be photographed. Of course, this is the best way to ‘tune in’ and spot wildlife. There were large ants crawling seemingly on just about every surface.

P1370063
Common Green Shieldbug.

I watched this shieldbug wandering along this branch.

P1370053
Another Crane Fly.
P1370080
Andrena

I think that this is an Andrena species of bee, a Mining Bee, but there are 68 UK species and I don’t know which of those this is.

P1370085
Crane fly on Whitebeam leaf.
P1370091
Holly flowers and buds.

Holly flowers are another thing which I think it can be very easy to miss.

Eventually, I dragged myself away from the moths and dropped down to the sands.

20230512_195422
Thrift.
P1370113
Sea Bristletail or Jumping Jack (possibly).
P1370116
Sea Bristletails (possibly).
20230512_195723
Rounding the corner into the Kent Estuary.

I was intrigued by the way the sand was pocked with tiny hollows.

20230512_200647
Ripples
20230512_200652
Ripples and a depression.

I wonder how they were formed?

20230512_200146
Meathop Fell.
20230512_200903
Kent channel.
20230512_200914
Kent channel looking toward Heversham Head.
P1370121
Heron being mobbed by gulls. I know how it feels!

By dragging my feet along the coast, I’d left little time for my return (over the Knott of course). Instead of continuing around to Arnside, I took an alternative path from New Barns, cutting a corner.

20230512_203543
Male flowers, Scots Pine.
20230512_204557
Kents Bank and Humphrey Head from the Knott.
P1370129
Sunset from the Knott.

A very memorable outing, and a good warm-up for a longer walk the following day.

Green Longhorn Moths and Other Delights

13 thoughts on “Green Longhorn Moths and Other Delights

  1. Lovely photos, and some great wildlife. Green Longhorn Moths? Completely new to me. I often read your blog and think “It would be nice to move back to Lancashire.” Then I remember the day I walked down the street in Preston one October day and thought “I can’t remember the last day it didn’t rain.”

      1. 🙂 A friend of mine from Heysham married a Peterborough girl when I lived there, and used to get worried in summer as he thought all our lawns were dying. I have become used to the southern lifestyle. 🙂

        1. beatingthebounds says:

          Which reminds me, slightly arbitrarily, of a quote from the late lamented Lemmy Kilmister: “We want to be the band that if we moved in next door to you, your lawn would die”
          Could be straight from the script of Spinal Tap. Maybe not lamented by his neighbours?

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      “The world has turned and left me here”. I’m just going to throw that out there, because I think it might be a song you know. My feeling is that it’s the earth which is at fault and occasionally a bit wonky, and nothing to do with me. In the same way that one of the physical attributes of Long-tailed Tits is that they are permanently out of focus. And, come to that, that its my shoes which occasionally make me stagger about and nothing to do with the beer I’ve consumed. And know that I’m warming to my theme: keyboards muddle the letters in the words form and carg so that they come out all wrong every time I type them!

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Because they were so tiny and also shiny, which sometimes seems to fox my camera , I was worried that none of my photos would be sharp and was determined to take lots as insurance. To be honest, I was thoroughly entertained.
      I got back from a walk a couple days ago and Little S asked me how it was? I said that I’d seen lots of bees and that therefore it had been ‘great’. His raised eyebrow and ‘I’m sure it was,’ were witheringly sarcastic. Can’t think where he gets that from.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      It seems like unsettled weather is here to stay for a while. Oh, well, shall have to make the most of the slightly better days when they come.

Leave a comment