Fit?

Hagg Wood – The Row – Bank Well – Lambert’s Meadow – Burtonwell Wood – The Green – Clark’s Lot – Fleagarth Wood – Jenny Brown’s Point – Jack Scout – Woodwell – Bottom’s Wood – The Lots – Eaves Wood.

20230514_121707
Ramsons in Fleagarth Wood.

A third walk of a rather excellent weekend. Perhaps not as spectacular as the previous two walks, but I remember enjoying myself immensely.
I’m always chuffed, for starters, when there are Eider near Jenny Brown’s…

P1370232
Eider ducks and Oystercatchers near Jenny Brown’s Point.
P1370234
Black-backed Gull and Cormorant by Jenny Brown’s Point.
P1370236
Milkwort at Jack Scout.

Milkwort is a tiny flower, easily missed, sometimes pink or white, but this year there was a broad patch of the sward at Jack Scout blushed blue by it.

P1370250
Kidney Vetch at Jack Scout.

The NHS had helpfully provided me with an App to help me monitor and manage my diet. Sadly, it’s awful, but it gave me access to an exercise app, which in turn suggested that I download Google Fit – which (result!) I quite like. I only use it to count steps, but it also awards ‘Health Points’ which are a bit of a conundrum.

20230514_125918
Dusky Crane’s-bill on Lindeth Road.

Apparently, the World Health Organisation recommend that I should accrue one-hundred-and-fifty of these per week. I’d tried it out for the first time the day before on the hills, and was a bit dismayed to discover that after all the toil of climbing Swarth Fell I’d only earned nine points. At that rate, the weekly target seemed like a very tall order.

P1370238
Newt in the pond by Woodwell.

By the time I finished that walk, I’d still only reached a total of forty-five. Since I’d earned so many more points whilst walking downhill, I assumed that the algorithm must make a calculation based at least partly on speed.

20230514_131339
Ramsons in Bottom’s Wood.

On this much shorter walk (just short of seven miles), I ran up almost a week’s worth of points. Frankly, I’m still a bit bewildered by how the calculation is made. But I like numbers, so I still like to take a peek at the figures when I’ve been out for a walk.

20230514_132143
Three-cornered Leek
20230514_132153
Three-cornered Leek.
20230514_132420
The Lots.
20230514_132758
…with tens of thousands of orchids.
P1370251
Green-winged Orchids.
Fit?

9 thoughts on “Fit?

  1. Best of luck with your new app. I hope the day will never come when somebody counts my steps. I know if I’m fit or not. (not at the moment as it happens) 😊
    I also said the day will never come when I resort to an emoji instead of expressing myself intelligibly. 😢

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Is there an emoji for that little things drummers do on chat shows after a punchline? Because that was a great punchline.

  2. Doesn’t sound like the app is ‘fit’ for purpose of measuring hill walking effort. Probably better with one of the normal walking apps which calculates the calories burnt. I guess the end goal is the same though. Love the orchids at the end of this walk, loads of them, also quite like that you’ve kept the grass in front of you horizontal and the horizon sloped to one side

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      More sloping horizons! The app is definitely not fit for purpose (see what you did there) – you would have thought the brilliant minds at Google could do better. I’m probably supposed to buy one of their ‘watches’ but I’m not minted. The MapMyWalk app produces a calorie count which I think must take account of altitude gained because it racks up some pretty impressive numbers for longer walks – so that’s probably a better guide. Best not to take any of these things too seriously is the main thing I think.

  3. I should have read this post first. I now understand your reference to WHO health points.
    Your Ransom images are almost as spectacular as when you walk through woods of bluebells! I’ll throw in an emojie or two. 😮😮😮

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      What the images can’t convey is the overpowering smell of garlic. Sometimes good, but, at the height of flowering sometimes a bit too much!

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      🤣😂😆 Cleary, I am absolutely useless at following health advice. Until tomorrow – when I know I shall start to get it all right.

Leave a comment