Bay Lines – Beach of Dreams

PXL_20230827_135400563
Flags on the beach at Arnside.

A long anticipated walk this one, and something a bit different. TBH and I had both spotted adverts for this…what? Instillation? Artwork? Event? Whatever, these flags had been moved around Morecambe Bay being displayed in various spots, alongside music and performance. The next day would be the last, in Morecambe, but on this day they were in Arnside.

We walked there and back, naturally; via the Knot in both directions, although we didn’t actually visit the top on either leg.

PXL_20230827_125734676
Contented looking pigs at Arnside Tower Farm.
PXL_20230827_134602181
Approaching the prom in Arnside.
PXL_20230827_135025219
Arnside and the flags.

There were 120 handmade, silk pennants, one for each mile of the Bay’s coastline.

PXL_20230827_135500446
Fish design.
PXL_20230827_135545740
Abstract design?

I can’t find any reference to who actually made the banners, which is a shame, because I thought the designs were superb.

PXL_20230827_135611159
Seedhead design.

I didn’t photograph all of them, but left to my own devices I might well have!

PXL_20230827_135742223
Flags on the jetty.

It was Bank Holiday Sunday, and pretty busy in Arnside. On the prom, a couple were singing what sounded to me like sea shanties, accompanied by a concertina.

As much as I liked the flags individually, it was the collective affect from various vantage points which was most striking.

PXL_20230827_135903710
Flags seen from the Jetty.
PXL_20230827_140522621
Fairground Design.
PXL_20230827_143345351
A view from our route up the Knott.

A great excuse for a walk, fair play to Morecambe Bay Partnerships for putting it on; I’m hoping they have something equally engaging planned for this summer.

Bay Lines – Beach of Dreams

16 thoughts on “Bay Lines – Beach of Dreams

  1. Those flags are gorgeous. I had a google (as you do) and came up with a piece that says they were made with natural dyes by members of the local community who contributed designs “under the guidance of Kinetika artists Ali Pretty and Lesley Robinson.“

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      Oh! Thanks for that, that’s great to know. I knew that locals were involved, somehow, in the choice of subjects, but the quality of the designs was so uniformly good that I assumed they had been made professionally. Maybe there was a selection process.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      August Bank Holiday weekend. Morecambe Bay partnerships tend not to repeat themselves, but who knows. Somewhat to my surprise, there’s currently nothing on their ‘What’s On’ page, which is a bit odd.

  2. My first that was that they had an oriental look about them and perhaps a reference to the tragedy in the Bay. But reading the other comments I’m wrong, no doubt.

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      I can completely see what you mean – like something out of an epic Chinese film or TV series. I’m thinking The Water Margins, although my recollection of that is a bit vague.

      1. Ah the Water Margins. That brings back some memories. And Monkey too!
        The flag display also reminded me of Samurai armies. I think that was also a feature of their battle formations

    1. beatingthebounds says:

      I loved it. TBH had to drag me away, else I’d probably have attempted to photograph every single pennant.

Leave a comment