If You Go Down to the Woods Today….

I never was lost in the woods in my whole life, though once I was confused for three days.

Daniel Boone quoted in ‘A Field Guide to Getting Lost’ by Rebecca Solnit

I’ve ben a bit confused with my blogging these last few days, but I hope to get back on track with a visit to the woods. On Friday we drove to Grizedale Forest in the Lake District. Much of Grizedale is commercial plantations, but it has become a very popular destination because there is so much to do there.

There’s a playground where you can find out what it feels like to be a spider (or a fly?):

The woods themselves are dotted with sculptures:

Some of which are also musical instruments:

Or shelters to play in:

The meadows are full of flowers:

Like Water Avens:

And Lady’s Mantle:

Generally a great place for a day out.

If You Go Down to the Woods Today….

2 thoughts on “If You Go Down to the Woods Today….

  1. Mark,

    I think I now understand from whence the sculpture – thank you.

    What a magical place Grizedale seems to be. The Lady in the Water piece in your link also caught my eye. I would take great pleasure in even more pictures of the forest, if you have them.

    Cynthia

Leave a comment